WDN Logo

home-icon Home / Web Browsers / How do I sign out of Chrome browser?

How do I sign out of Chrome browser?

Sign out of Chrome web browser

Google launched their Chrome web browser on 2nd September 2008. At that time, they were already the world’s favourite engine and riding high on the popularity of Gmail, the free email service.

Over the years, Google launched tens of other web services most notable of them are Orkut, a social networking site which they shut down later, Google Buzz (had the same fate of Orkut), Google+, their new social networking service, YouTube, Google Drive and Google Photos.

Sponsored Links

Instead of having users to login separately at these services, Google consolidated everything under one umbrella. Now, all you have to do is to create a single Google account to access all these services. Additionally, if you’re using their Chrome web browser, you can sign in directly at Chrome which not only makes the sign in process simpler, it also lets you to access browser bookmarks, history, passwords and other settings on other devices like a cellphone, tablet or another computer.

Though keeping all browser information synchronised is a great idea, you should not sign in at Chrome from untrustworthy devices or those you no longer use. And in this post I’ll show you how to sign out of Chrome to keep your data safe and away from prying eyes.

Please note: It is not imperative to sign in at Chrome to use the web browser. It is simply a feature which Google has built in to assist users in accessing accounts quickly and provide a seamless experience for their various services.

Instructions on how to sign out of Chrome

As mentioned above, signing in at Chrome is useful only if you plan on using this browser on more than one devices. This way all settings and stored data will be kept synchronised.

  1. If you’ve signed in at Chrome, your name would be displayed at the top-right corner. You can even see your profile picture if you click on that button.
    User that is already signed in a Chrome
  2. To sign out, click on the customise icon and select “Settings” option from the drop down menu.
    Chrome menu with Settings option
  3. Scroll down to the “People” section. Your name should be listed here. Mouse over it and click the small “x” icon.
    Click x to remove signed in user
  4. A dialog box will ask for your confirmation to delete the account and all its associated data. Click the Remove button to get rid of it.
    Remove all user data from Chrome

That’s it! You’ve successfully signed out of this Chrome browser! And this is evident from the fact that the icon on the top-right now shows an “anonymous” profile picture instead of the name of the user.

Sponsored Links

Search

Your comments
Star icon IMPORTANT Have a question / problem? Click here to ask an expert.

Etch-A-Sketch iPad case

Sponsored Links

Tips

How do I view a deleted web page?
Is there a way to view a deleted web page - one that is no longer available? Yes there is and the solution is quite simple. [more...]

Fact

The world's first hard disk couldn't be bought as an individual device. You had to get the computer with which it came. The computer, IBM305 RAMAC, itself was only available on lease for $3200 per month. [more...]

Share on Whats app Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Google plus